Chicken Vegetable Soup with Rice

I can’t believe it has been forever since I made a post. Life sometimes takes unexpected turns and cooking took a back burner to other things. However, yesterday I needed comfort food and Chicken and Rice soup with veggies was what I was craving. Having cooked a whole chicken to feed my cats who have tummy issues, I had wonderful chicken stock and I usually the breast for me when I cook for them. So … I grabbed pots and ingredients and had this soup in a bowl in no time flat!

Ingredients:

  • About 1/2 cup chopped chicken
  • A cup of chicken stock plus enough water to make the soup
  • 1 can mixed veggies
  • 1/4 cup uncooked brown rice
  • 1/4 cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup chopped canned green chilies
  • Seasoning to taste
  • About 1 – 1/2 teaspoons butter

 

Directions:

  1. In a medium sauce pan, melt butter and toast rice until it smells nutty. (I begin all rice I cook this way to add depth of flavor!)
  2. Add the chicken stock and water; cook rice until nearly done.
  3. While rice is cooking, add both peppers to infuse flavor into the stock and rice
  4. When rice is almost done, add undrained mixed veggies and chicken
  5. Add seasoning of your choice to taste and simmer until everything is heated through.
  6. If needed, add more water to make the soup your desired consistency.
  7. Enjoy!!!

© 2015 Lazy Cook

Leave a comment